Being a bilingual


Luca: 15 months old

You are born under a star of having two cultures: American and Japanese cultures even though you are born in United States. I think it’s lucky to have multicultural background because not everyone can get to have this. Because you have more opportunities in any direction than the other people who doesn’t have this type of thing. 

Your mom is trying to speak Japanese to you every single day as well as teaching the culture what it is about. Japanese culture is very different from American culture that sometimes I am even having a hard time to explain even to your Papa. And speaking English is not that easy even though I live here more than 20 years now ESPECIALLY when I speak to your Papa. He is very strict about English grammar. No mercy on me being a foreigner. He always says “I can’t believe you live here more than 20 years. You should speak like a native!!” Lol I guess he doesn’t have many foreign friends in his life… He thinks I should speak English perfectly because of the length of living AND having an US passport. Hahahaha I think it’s funny. There are soooo many people out there who don’t speak “perfect” English or speak broken English but they live fine. But his point is I should speak good enough English so then you won’t be affected. I get his point but you will learn good English from school and the environment no matter how bad I speak. You live in America! Of course you will. 

Anyway, I know you will get benefit someday by knowing two languages possibly more if you are interested. However, I can teach you Japanese so far that once you reach puberty, I’m pretty sure you will decide either to continue or discontinue of learning Japanese. I hope you will continue. And I will always “try” to understand for your wishes as much as I can. Although PLEASE know and remember that you have your relatives living in Japan. Your grandmother, your aunt, cousins (Yu, Fumiya and Yota. They are about 12-14 years older than you are. Fumiya and Yota play baseball!),my  aunt and uncle and the other extended family members and my friends! They are all nice, and thoughtful people that you will be happy to get to know about. But most of them don’t speak English so that’s why you should be able to speak Japanese. It doesn’t have to be perfect. As long as you can communicate, that is all I wish for. If you can write or read, that’s fabulous!! 

In this article (see you need to know how to read in Japanese! Hehe 😝), it’s difficult to raise a child as a bilingual because once you figure out who you are you might come to the conclusion that you no longer need to pursue  the 2nd language you were learning because you think there is no purpose in your life to use it. 

That shouldn’t be the case, my son. Japanese language and culture are so beautiful and its history is so deep, long and magnificent. American history is very interesting itself however it is not that long as Japanese history. But like I said earlier, I respect your wish as much as I can (I will try to persuade you anyway though! Haha). 

Much Love,
Your Mama

子供がバイリンガルに育たない理由とは

Leave a Reply

